Posts tagged “music

Technicolor Terror: Splatterpunx Vol. 1

The clocks ticking, soon we will be dropping our first record in the form of a FREE compilation of some of the biggest and best names in the horror-punk scene. Take a peak at the KILLER cover art and track list.

Stay tuned, creeps.

We have some horrific things in the works and soon and will be accepting PRE-ORDERS on a record by one of the FIRST BANDS covered by Technicolor Terror!

11209449_1070864562943424_2085360695004383198_nSPLATTERPUNX VOL. 1

1. Bloodsucking Zombies From Outer Space – Technicolour Terror
2. Silent Horror – Mary Jo
3. Maleva – Halloween Night
4. Fifty Two Ways – 976
5. Zombina and the Skeletones – Dracula Blood Deep Vein Thrombosis
6. THEM! – Maneating Mutant Monsters
7. Children of October – Murder Is My Name
8. The Dirge – Requiem
9. Lupen Too
th – Skin All over the Place
10. They Live – Alazif
11. The Spook – One With The Devil
12. Xtian Goblyn – Wasp Waist
13. Schock – Deep 13
14. The Theatre Zombies – Dear Christine
15. Dr. Hell – I Won’t Pay For Sex With Rotten Bitches
16. Werevilsdare – Whorehound
17. Crazies – Ghost
18. Headstone Horrors – Frankenstein’s Girl
19. Shadow Windhawk and the Morticians – The Marsten House
20. The Zombie Mafia – The Bloodening
21. American Werewolves – I Spit On Your Grave

And for all you bands, our forthcoming label is currently INVITE ONLY and while we will be open for general submissions later this year, we will be paying close attention to the bands submitting. So if you’re interested and missed out, don’t fret — We will be opening submissions for Vol. 2 in August for a HALLOWEEN release!


Live Review: Electric Citizen Live, Cincinnati, 6/19/15

Electric Citizen Live, Cincinnati, 6/19/15
Kelly M. Hudson

11647357_10153391663504496_1761418709_nIt goes like this: Riff, riff, riff, Motherfucking RIFF! And the drums, colliding, cascading, pummeling, and yet always under control, alwa  ys pushing the songs to swing, so your head bangs as your ass boogies.

The bass, that sensual throb, that thumping, propulsive and yet underlying bedrock of the songs.

And the voice, oh dear god, that voice: all at once possessing the sultry witchiness of Stevie Nicks combined with that lonesome and paranoid wail of Ozzy from the early 70’s.

This was Electric Citizen in concert. 

They did a free show the other night in a nice little cool club in Cincinnati called the Northside Tavern. I have been listening to the Citizen for about a year now and my appreciation of them has steadily risen. The metal world is nearly drowning in stoner/doom/psych bands these days, a lot of them with a female singer, and the Citizen is exactly like these and so many other bands glutting the market and so they should feel stale or boring and yet…and yet… 11304079_10153391660569496_1111966727_n

Seeing them play, hearing the songs as they cascaded over the crowd, I couldn’t help but feel like I was witnessing the cusp of something great to come. It’s like I was there, right before the band went big. And will this band go big? Probably not. They’re a niche band in a niche market, but my fucking god it’s a crime if they don’t at least come to rule that niche or be considered as a part of its upper echelon. I mean, come on. The way the riffs were just pealing from the guitar (and his solos! Damn but Dolan can play!), the way the bass held it all together, the glue that kept the groove, the way the drums were so powerful and yet so melodic, and her voice, oh, her voice.

It truly was like I’d stepped into a lost and forgotten concert from the early 1970’s.

11650609_10153391660989496_158994441_nThis show was something else. I encourage you to head out and get yourself some Electric Citizen. You can find everything you want at from a video to links to buy their record and t-shirts and the like. I encourage you to do so. The underground always needs your help.

Electric Citizen is:

Ross Dolan (guitar)

Laura Dolan (vox)

Nick Vogelpohl (bass)

Nate Wagner (drums)

The Slayer Dilemma

The Slayer Dilemma
Kelly M. Hudson

11653418_10153391647404496_891673634_nSo, Slayer has a new single out.

A brutal new album is on its way.

We’re talking Slayer, man, the Kings of Heavy, the Masters of Metal. I should be excited, right? I should be thrilled. This is an event. A New Slayer Record!

But I am not. In fact, I could give a shit.

Will I get it? Yeah. I’m a sucker. I still love Slayer but honestly, I don’t care if they ever put out another new album. I think they’ve done their thing and at this point, it’s all just repetition. I mean, they’re not going to out-do the ferocity of Reign in Blood. They’re not going to be able to top the monumental thrash epics South of Heaven and Seasons in the Abyss (for my money, easily their finest albums). Hell, they’re not even going to be able to climb as high as the tepid Divine Intervention, are they? What has Slayer given us, exactly, after that opening salvo of the five original, classic albums? Up and down music, that’s what. They’ve been repeating themselves. Sometimes it’s been okay (Divine Intervention, Diabolus in Musica) and sometimes it’s been shit (God Hates us All, Christ Illusion). And once it was pretty damned good (World Painted Blood).

Slayer is at half-mast at this point. Their best songwriter and guitarist is dead (yeah, you read that right) and the finest metal drummer in maybe history was given the boot because of Mr. Gene Simmons, er, I mean, Kerry King. So we’re left with half the band we used to have. And to be honest, listening to the early singles they’ve released, the songs themselves are just fine. The only problem is they’re…well, nothing new. They hit that spot long ago where they became AC/DC or Motorhead. And that’s no insult. They are a recognizable and quantifiable product. When you hear them, you know it’s Slayer. They never sold their fans out (they flirted with doing so, they sure did, but they never stepped over the line, at least in my estimation) like some thrash titans have (*cough*cough* Metallica). So kudos to them. They may be a two-legged dog now, but they’ve stayed true. That’s more than commendable, that’s admirable. It’s just, we’ve reached that point where anything new by them is going to be, nine times out of ten, redundant.

Listen for yourself:

Those songs aren’t bad. But they’re stale. And you know what?

That’s okay. Thank god we still get some form of Slayer. Let’s just not act like a new album is that big of a deal.