Review: Silent Horror – “Silent Horror”

Track Listing10500270_682195735189147_2337034138451104287_n
1. Son of Frankenstein
2. Drink of Your Blood
3. The Tingler
4. Carnival of Souls
5. Violent Side
6. Paranormal
7. Grindhouse Ride
8. Wolfsbane
9. Bride to Be
10. Evil Dead
11. Teenage Homicide
12. Equilibrium
13. Giant Monsters
14. Beware
15. Mr. Brooks
16. Wretched I Am
17. Chainsaw

I will start off by saying that Silent Horror is a band that I am not unfamiliar with.  Hell I loved this band back in the day when James was on vocals and still have all the old Silent Horror material.  Long story short, the band eventually went on to break up and I was left wishing with all my heart that one day this band would get back together, I mean fuck, this was the first horror-punk I found on my own after listening to The Misfits.  That’s right I found these guys before Blitzkid, BEFORE Blitzkid!  If you can believe that, crazy huh?   To see them coming back and to add the infamous Goolsby to take on the reins just adds to the greatness that this band already is. The tunes you all have been waiting so long for are finally here to enjoy!

For a common horror-punk or to the most dedicated, this album is one that you simply cannot pass up as you’ll be regretting it beyond belief when you final do hear it.  For me this is definitely one of the most completely solid albums I have heard in a long time, there is not one song I hate or even dislike and even trying to pick a favorite is almost and utterly impossible, though Teenage Homicide has always butted heads with Violent Side in my mind, but in the end Teenage took the crown.  Upon having early access to the album I found myself listening to this album from beginning to end for an entire month straight.  Goolsby adds a new energy and eeriness to the band that makes listening to these classics again brand new and if you happen to have both the old and new Silent Horror material you’ll find yourself listening to every version and loving how both are such polar opposites and yet so good in their own unique way.

In closing, there really is nothing I can gripe about even if I wanted to.  Silent Horror is and always will be one of my all time favorite bands and to hear all these songs again resurrected and brought to an all new level of glory and decadence and to see that my friend Goolsby has chosen this band to be his new home just makes me that much more exciting to see what else Silent Horror has in store for us.  A 17 song album with classics like, The Tingler, Carnival of Souls, Violent Side, Teenage Homicide, Wretched I Am, Beware, Drink of Your Blood, etc. I would easily pay $20 bucks.  Two thumbs up, five stars, whatever the fuck you want to say.  Brandall, Brent, and Gools, you owe everyone a lot of diapers, a lot after they listened to this glorious release.  Doo wop, baby doo wop, doo wop, baby doo!!  Get it?  Doo doo?

Leave a Reply

