Review: Jamey Rottencorpse and The Rising Dead – “The Rise of the Dead”

Tack Listing
1. Intro
2. The Devil And His Band
3. Dance ‘Til You Die
4. The Rise of the Dead
5. Bloodbath
6. Movie Maniacs
7. Somewhere Under the Graveyard
8. Education
9. Come And Die With Me
10. Zombie Girl
11. I Can’t Sleep at Night
12. Strange and Scary
13. Radioactive Zombies
14. Outro

This amazing band started on Halloween in 2009 crawling out of the Hell fire pits of Bremen, Germany.  Lead by vocalist Jamey Rottencorpse and his ghoulish followers, TomTom Scumbag (Guitar), Slimebag Die Well (Guitar), Mr. Snowy Claws (Drums), Moldy Oddfingers (Kaos-Pad, BG-Vocals), and Riot Earp (Bass).  These soon to be superghouls which are currently signed to Dr. Cyclops Records are definitely my favorite band that the label has signed so far.  Bringing to you an awesome mixture of old/new school horror-punk with a twist of metal, set the volume to 138 and there you have it.

As I’m sitting here drinking this blood red wine I ponder where to begin with this album.  I knew from the very beginning that this was going to be an epic band and could not wait for this album’s release.  I even remember telling Jamey to hurry this album’s release up for I couldn’t wait any longer.  But for one I love the fact that this a horror-punk album from beginning to end, through and through.  No slow ballads, no doo-wop inspired love songs (which I love by the way, don’t get me wrong haha) this is just straight to the point in your face scary horror-punk that would even make Danzig proud.  I love the recording and sound of this album, it’s beautifully solid, not raw yet not overdone either, it’s just right!  The dueling guitars of Scumbag and Slimebag is one of my personal favorites on this album, every song is solid and even though it’s simple the solo on, “Somewhere Under the Graveyard” is unbelievably epic and get’s me so fucking amped I find myself rewinding that solo over and over again and over course having one of my favorite lines from, “Night of the Living Dead” playing in the background just makes it that much more enjoyable.  As a use to be drummer I always am picky with the drums when it comes to any album and Snowy doesn’t disappoint as the drums are on time, clean, and solid.  Jamey’s vocals are some of my favorites, as he doesn’t try to imitate Danzig and doesn’t go for the super melodic tone most horror-punk bands tend to lean towards T.B. being an example, yet not going incredibly wretched like Saint Legions of The Lurking Corpses.  It’s right in the middle and I love it, I will note though that I love both previously mentioned vocalists and am just using them as examples.

In closing there’s not too much more to say that I haven’t  already stated.  Some people will complain and say that this album sounds like every other horror-punk band or album but of course that’s to be expected, you’re not going to please everyone on the planet.  But there’s something about the album that didn’t give me that same vibe, I definitely love this record and I personally believe that any horror-punk or horror-based music fan will highly enjoy this album and band and I highly recommend checking this album out.  Also I don’t care what anybody says or if anyone hates me now, but Jamey’s face paint puts Graves and Goolsby’s face paint to shame with a boot to the face.  Fucking EPIC!

– Justin Stankus


One response

  1. Sirod Cox

    Yup, that album is just great and like Justin Stankus said: I too believe that any horror-punk fan – and not only them – will like this album. A double “like” from me.

    January 21, 2012 at 8:02 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s