A horrorpunk webzine

Review: The Suicide Ghouls – “We Put the Fun in Funeral”

  Album: The Suicide Ghouls
  Track Listing
1. The Blood is the Life
2. She Bytes
3. Zombie Midget Stripper
4. Love You To Death
5. Santa Claus is a Pedophile
6. This is Horror
7. Dance of the Dead
8. Resurrection
9. Betelgeuse
10. Dead Girls Don’t Say No
11. Fear the Ripper
12. Lycan
13. I Was a Teenage Frankenstein

The Suicide Ghouls are an amazing horror-punk band that crawled out of graves that reside within Columbus, Ohio in 2009.  This is a group that is quickly starting to make a name for themselves and I feel that even that statement is not credit that should be due to this band.  Playing with great bands including The Misfits, Calabrese, Blitzkid, Aaron Omen, Graveyard Boulevard, The Cobra Skulls, The Koffin Kats, and Juicehead just to name a few.  The band is well known for their high energy shows that are described as one of a kind, and they always leave their fans wanting more.  But what I want to know is why a band this great has not been picked up by a label yet.

As I stated previously, the biggest question for me is why is this band has not been signed yet!?  I mean shit, it literally blows my mind.  This is one dedicated band and it shows, the recording on this album is absolutely superb for an unsigned band and that’s just the recording, which also leaves the question of how much more this badass this album would be if they were signed (Labels I am talking to you, take the fucking hint!).  These guys have been able to do something that is very rare in the horror-punk scene and something I always fucking love to find!  That my friends, is horror-pop-punk!  Yes that’s right!  The snotty vocals, melodic tunes, and speed of true pop-punk which I hold so dear.  With the dark vocals, terrifying tunes that blend so well with the pop punk side, and everything horror that I cannot put into words.  This band has been able to blend two of my favorite sub-genres in Punk Rock to create an album and band that brings to mind bands such as The Creeps, The Quintessentials, Stepson, Crawling Chaos, or The Lillingtons.  I also don’t believe I need to tell you that’s a real and I mean real good fucking thing.

With tunes like, “She Bytes”, “The Blood is the Life”, “Santa Claus is a Pedophile”, “Fear the Ripper” (my favorite by the way), and “Resurrection” it was and still is hard for me to put this album down.  It really is that good.  I can’t stress enough how much I enjoy the blending of the pop and horror on this album as it now doubles the appeal of the listener as well. I mean if I owned a record shop and was asked, “What’s a great horror-punk album?”, I would respond with, “Here, check out We Put the Fun in Funeral!”  “Oh you enjoy pop-punk?”, “Here!  Listen to We Put the Fun in Funeral.”  Like I said it doubles the appeal of the album and it’s something that’s refreshing to me.  Because believe me when I say that I love horror-punk and could go on for ages, but face it you may deny it but we all get tired of the Danvis (Danzig/Elvis) hybrid vocals every now and again.  That’s why bands such as The Suicide Ghouls and albums like, “We Put the Fun in Funeral” are so important to me.  Trust me, this band has stuff going for them.  The vocals are melodic, snotty, and scary, the music is amazing, solid, and on point, and the recording is phenomenal for a unsigned band.  This is an album that not just a horror-punk fan should pick up but that a PUNK fan in general must add to their collection.  Whether it’s Street, Crust, Pop, Ska, or Horror punk, this album has something for everyone to enjoy.  I really hope you take my advice and give this album a listen and check these guys out.  You’ll hear no complaints from me on this album.  Epic.

- Justin Stankus

 

6 responses

  1. awesome band, and great group of guys too, how do i know that, well just ask them..

    February 9, 2012 at 4:41 am

  2. These guys are my favorite band right now. Ever since I saw their first show in Pittsburgh. I have dragged them out two more times to put them on the ticket with my band. Everyone should listen to them!

    February 9, 2012 at 6:59 am

  3. The Shaws

    Besides being crazy talented, they’re also a charismatic riot onstage!

    February 9, 2012 at 2:21 pm

  4. Johnny

    Which band named “The Creeps” are you referring to? The Columbus, Ohio, Creeps (where these guys hail) are city legends and were more in line with Victory Records hardcore than pop punk. I have to believe that there must be a pop punk band of the same name for you to make that comparison… that being said, I like this band as well.

    August 6, 2012 at 5:57 am

    • nosebrah

      Referring to the horror pop-punk band The Creeps from Ottawa, Canada.

      August 7, 2012 at 2:28 am

      • Nameme

        That’s a shame. I saw you mention The Creeps and hoped that it was the Ohio band from the early to late 90s.I saw them open up for Suicidal Tendencies and the show was amazing!

        May 21, 2013 at 4:25 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.